The tournament starts... - Reisverslag uit Veenendaal, Nederland van Melvyn Wildeboer - WaarBenJij.nu The tournament starts... - Reisverslag uit Veenendaal, Nederland van Melvyn Wildeboer - WaarBenJij.nu

The tournament starts...

Door: Melvyn Wildeboer

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Melvyn

05 Augustus 2017 | Nederland, Veenendaal

Hi there,

Today was the first working day of the European Youth Ultimate Championship 2017 in Veenendaal, and it was a very exciting and interesting day. Yesterday, I told you that there are 3 different shifts that fit to the task of food and bar. These 3 different shifts are the barshift, the kitchenshift and the buffetshift. Today I got one of these three shifts, which was the barshift. During the day, I had 2 barshifts; one from 9.00 to 12.00 and one from 19.00 to 22.00. The day started with a meeting for all the volunteers, where we were introduced to the organisation. We also divided the small tasks that still needed to be done, but since my first shift started at 9, I was not able to perform one of these tasks. During the barshift, I had to stand behind the bar and sell drinks to spectators and players. After every shift, I had to count all the money and put my profit of that shift in an envelope, which would be given to the company that organised the catering Peter Pan. During the first shift, it was however very quiet, as no players or spectators hadn’t arrived yet. Therefore, I decided to help the buffet-crew with cleaning up the breakfast after 10 o’clock. In between the two shifts, I had some time to watch some matches of frisbee. Before the tournament, I had never seen an official frisbee match, so it was very interesting to watch these matches. As I had some lessons of frisbee in the PE-lessons, I did however know the rules of the game. This really helped a lot. After my last shift, so at 22.00 o’clock, the bar closed, so I had to close it. This included small tasks as cleaning up, counting the money and closing the metal doors of the fridges, to show that the bar was finished. The big tent, in which the bar was situated, stayed however open for the volunteers with a night shift. These people needed to check the halls and camping where the players were sleeping, regularly to make sure everything and everyone was save. During the night, these people could still get coffee and tea at the bar, since drinks were free for volunteers. I thought today was a very interested day, in which I learned a lot, not only about the game of frisbee, but also about the tasks I will be performing throughout the week. I really enjoyed today, especially the contact with the various people that came to the bar. I also got to know a few new volunteers, but I hope to get to know a lot more in the coming days.

See you tomorrow!!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Nederland, Veenendaal

Melvyn

Actief sinds 14 Aug. 2017
Verslag gelezen: 168
Totaal aantal bezoekers 5037

Voorgaande reizen:

04 Augustus 2017 - 12 Augustus 2017

EYUC 2017

Landen bezocht: