The tournament starts #2 - Reisverslag uit Veenendaal, Nederland van Melvyn Wildeboer - WaarBenJij.nu The tournament starts #2 - Reisverslag uit Veenendaal, Nederland van Melvyn Wildeboer - WaarBenJij.nu

The tournament starts #2

Door: Melvyn Wildeboer

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Melvyn

06 Augustus 2017 | Nederland, Veenendaal

Hello folks!!

Today was the second day of the tournament, with the first matches in most of the categories. Today I had a lot of different shifts, starting with a one-hour bar-shift, which was followed by a buffet-shift from 11 to 12. During the buffet-shift, you had to be in the big tent where the bar was too, and your main tasks was to provide all the players and volunteers with food. The buffet-shift turned around the three main meals of the day; the breakfast, lunch and dinner. Before the tournament, the players and coaches could buy the buffets. After that, the teams were provided with coins of three different colours; yellow for breakfast, orange for lunch and red for the dinner. At the opening of the big tent, someone was placed to collect all the coins. Only people with the right coloured coin could enjoy the meals. The breakfast consisted of bread with spreads, fruits and yoghurt with muesli. During my breakfast-shift I had to clean the breakfast, which closed at 10.00 and make the big tent ready for the lunch. After all the things of the breakfast were cleaned, I was asked to help in the kitchen, which was a big tent next to the buffet-tent, where the meals were prepared and heated, before they were transported to the buffet-tent. In the kitchen, I was asked to cut the meat with a special machine, both for the lunch, but also for the breakfast of tomorrow. After my buffet-shift, I was free till 15.00, and I used the time to watch a match of the women under 20, in which one of my best friends is. She had to play against Israel and she won!! After three I had a kitchen-shift, which was about helping with preparing the meals. During the shift, I had to cut vegetables for the diner, and after that I had to do the dishes. My shift finished at 18, the time when the dinner opened. At 19, I had to be in the kitchen again, to wash all the empty trays that returned from the buffet-tent. Luckily we had a dishwasher, which made the dishwashing much more fun. After 21, I still had a bar-shift to 22. All in all I had a really long day of 8 hours working, but I really enjoyed all the tasks that I was given. I also met a lot of different people from different countries and cultures, which was very nice and interesting to see. I already received the schedule for tomorrow, and I saw I’ll be doing all three shifts tomorrow, so that will be a very nice day!!

See you tomorrow!!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Nederland, Veenendaal

Melvyn

Actief sinds 14 Aug. 2017
Verslag gelezen: 354
Totaal aantal bezoekers 5042

Voorgaande reizen:

04 Augustus 2017 - 12 Augustus 2017

EYUC 2017

Landen bezocht: