The other volunteers!! - Reisverslag uit Veenendaal, Nederland van Melvyn Wildeboer - WaarBenJij.nu The other volunteers!! - Reisverslag uit Veenendaal, Nederland van Melvyn Wildeboer - WaarBenJij.nu

The other volunteers!!

Door: Melvyn Wildeboer

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Melvyn

07 Augustus 2017 | Nederland, Veenendaal

Hello there,

Today was the third day of the tournament, and I am slowly beginning to settle in the whole tournament. I start to know all the different shifts and the tasks that need to be done during the shifts, and I get to know the way in the kitchen. I also start to learn the other volunteers, not only the people who have food and bar as tasks too, but also people from other tasks, such as the scorekeepers, who, as the name already suggests, watch the matches to keep the scores but who also make a small summary of the match they have seen. Some volunteers were assigned to the task of ‘field’, which was about cleaning the litter on the fields and about making sure the fields were spectator-friendly. Other tasks were camping, which was about checking the campsites of the volunteers and the players to guarantee safety and protection of personal belongings. They also had to clean the toilets and bathrooms and to check these every day. My day started at 8 am, when I woke up, as I had to start my kitchen-shift at 9 o’clock. After getting dressed and breakfast I was completely ready to start. During my kitchen-shift, I had to help the buffet-crew with cleaning up the breakfast and setting up the lunch already. Before that however, from 9 to 10, I had to help the people in the kitchen with cutting vegetables for the lunch, but also for the dinner already. After my kitchen shift, I had some time to relax, in which I had some lunch, before I had to be ready for my bar-shift at 2 pm. Last night we had a meeting with the whole food-crew and in this meeting we decided to change the position of the bar. During the past few days, the bar had been at the back of the buffet-tent and due to this, only a few people (which were mainly volunteers) came to the bar for some drinks. By putting the bar in front of the tent, we hoped to attract more people and thus to make more profit. I noticed that this really was the case; a lot more people came to the bar to order something to drink. During the meeting, we also decided to add snacks to ‘menu’ of the bar, as we only had drinks at the bar, and a lot of people asked for something sweet or salty, as that was not available at the sports park. These snacks still needed to be bought by the catering company, so during my shift today, there were no snacks yet. After my two-hour bar-shift, I had an hour free, which I used to watch some matches. After this hour, I needed to be back at the big tent for my buffet-shift. During this shift, I had to give the players and staff with a coin, and the volunteers food. Most of the meals were vegetarian, as the catering company was a biological company, and as biological meat is very expensive, they decided to make this week vegetarian. There were however two dinners in the week where meat was included in the food, and one of these dinners was today. The dinner of day consisted of pasta with chopped pork and vegetables, with a salad and bread. At 8 pm my shift was over and someone took over my job. After that I played some games with some friends and after went to bed, as tomorrow my first shift starts at 7 am… I really enjoyed today, as there was a lot of variety in the tasks that I needed to do. I really start to enjoy the contact with people from abroad, and I think it is very interesting to see all the eat-habits of different cultures. Right now I am going to sleep, as tomorrow will be a very long and tiring day.

See you tomorrow!!

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Verslag uit: Nederland, Veenendaal

Melvyn

Actief sinds 14 Aug. 2017
Verslag gelezen: 176
Totaal aantal bezoekers 5038

Voorgaande reizen:

04 Augustus 2017 - 12 Augustus 2017

EYUC 2017

Landen bezocht: